!!> Reading ➸ O Inimigo de Deus ➰ Author Bernard Cornwell – Writerscompany.co.uk

O Inimigo de Deus The Balance Of King Arthur S Unified Kingdom Is Threatened By Merlin S Quest For The Last Of Britain S Treasures By The Conflict Between The Ancient Religion And The New Christianity And By Britain S War With The Saxons A Master Storyteller Continues His Retelling Of The Arthurian Legend

10 thoughts on “O Inimigo de Deus

  1. says:

    4.5 5 StarsEnemy of God, the second book in The Warlord Chronicles trilogy by Bernard Cornwell, and the series so far, has truly been serendipity for me.As I mentioned in my previous review, I ve never bothered to start Cornwell s work, it brings me joy when someone, a friendeven better again when it s from one of your favorite authorsrecommended a book series to y

  2. says:

    ReligionThe second book of the Warlord Chronicles, Enemy of God takes this epic Arthurian story up another notch The political manoeuvrings, personal quests, mix of diverse personalities, and the unpredictable relationships between male and female characters, makes for captivating reading.The compelling feature of this novel is the extent and depth of how characters ar

  3. says:

    Book 1 3 Book 2 3.5 sThis darker and less romanticized view of Camelot picked up speed in book two I ve grown to enjoyandthis version of the characters and especially the view of Lancelot and Guinevere who definitely don t come out smelling like roses.The clash between the Britons and the Saxons also escalates as does the pagans vs the Christians which in some ways the sto

  4. says:

    Bernard Cornwell does not disappoint and once again I enjoyed his book immensely The way he connects myth and fiction in this book is astonishing I applaud his singular storytelling skills and I cannot wait for next and unfortunately final book in this series

  5. says:

    Just placed my expanded review of this wonderful nook onto BookNest.eu So many dead Their footsteps will not stir a rush on the floor nor frighten the mice that live in the monastery s thatched roof Enemy of God is the second book of The Warlord Chronicles by Bernard Cornwell It continues the unique historical perspective about the origins of Arthur and his band of loyal warriors

  6. says:

    Back 2 back with a series which Ive not done in eons We pick up directly from the end of the prior book, the aftermath of the battle of Lugg Vale Derfel is again front centre retelling his story as an old monk Merlin is at the centre of the politics, others think they control the kingdom but in reality it is the druid his accolade Nimue that pull the strings in the background it s a g

  7. says:

    8 10A slight improvement on the previous novel but definitely a feel of a second book in a trilogy I enjoyed the first book but it took some time to get into and there were a hell of a lot of names to take on board only for the majority of them to die or no longer be involved after 50 pages This one was a little slow at the start and it took me a while to get back into the flow of the sty

  8. says:

    Number two in the Warlord series.This is the warts and all story of Arthur, Guinevere, Sir Lancelot and the rest of the round table knights.There is nothing cosy and romantic about this tale Lancelot is a narcissistic pig Guinevere has delusions of grandeur and Arthur wants nothingthan to be a farmer.The usual suspects, greed, power, sex, revenge and religion, keep getting in the way of Arthu

  9. says:

    So,an escape fromformal literary pursuits.Cornwell is a consummate storyteller.He distills history,religion,myth,legend,magic and fable.This predates Game of Thrones but is a marvellous re imagining of the Arthurian legends.This is a story of Britain with religious persecution and invasion and immigration and clashes of Kings and clans.A version of the Arthurian saga was filmed in Ireland in or a

  10. says:

    5 Stars Incredible Enemy of God The Warlord Chronicles, 2is an incredible continuation into the life and story of Britons and their most heroic leader Arthur, and it is an incredible effort by Sir Cornwell There s really not much critique to say about a book that is so polished, so well written, so entertaining with delightful and memorable characters In this latest effort, Cornwell improves in nearl

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

About the Author: Bernard Cornwell

Cornwell was born in London in 1944 His father was a Canadian airman, and his mother, who was English, a member of the Women s Auxiliary Air Force He was adopted and brought up in Essex by the Wiggins family, who were members of the Peculiar People, a strict Protestant sect who banned frivolity of all kinds and even medicine After he left them, he changed his name to his birth mother s maiden name, Cornwell.Cornwell was sent away to Monkton Combe School, attended the University of London, and after graduating, worked as a teacher He attempted to enlist in the British armed services at least three times but was rejected on the grounds of myopia.He then joined BBC s Nationwide and was promoted to become head of current affairs at BBC Northern Ireland He then joined Thames Television as editor of Thames News He relocated to the United States in 1980 after marrying an American Unable to get a green card, he started writing novels, as this did not require a work permit.As a child, Cornwell loved the novels of C.S Forester, chronicling the adventures of fictional British naval officer Horatio Hornblower during the Napoleonic Wars, and was surprised to find there were no such novels following Lord Wellington s campaign on land Motivated by the need to support himself in the U.S through writing, Cornwell decided to write such a series He named his chief protagonist Richard Sharpe, a rifleman involved in most major battles of the Peninsular War.Cornwell wanted to start the series with the Siege of Badajoz but decided instead to start with a couple of warm up novels These were Sharpe s Eagle and Sharpe s Gold, both published in 1981 Sharpe s Eagle was picked up by a publisher, and Cornwell got a three book deal He went on to tell the story of Badajoz in his third Sharpe novel, Sharpe s Company, published in 1982.Cornwell and wife Judy co wrote a series of novels, published under the pseudonym Susannah Kells These were A Crowning Mercy, published in 1983, Fallen Angels in 1984, and Coat of Arms aka The Aristocrats in 1986 Cornwell s strict Protestant upbringing informed the background of A Crowning Mercy, which took place during the English Civil War In 1987, he also published Redcoat, an American Revolutionary War novel set in Philadelphia during its 1777 occupation by the British.After publishing eight books in his ongoing Sharpe series, Cornwell was approached by a production company interested in adapting them for television The producers asked him to write a prequel to give them a starting point to the series They also requested that the story feature a large role for Spanish characters to secure co funding from Spain The result was Sharpe s Rifles, published in 1987, and a series of Sharpe television films staring Sean Bean.A series of contemporary thrillers with sailing as a background and common themes followed Wildtrack published in 1988, Sea Lord aka Killer s Wake in 1989, Crackdown in 1990, Stormchild in 1991, and Scoundrel, a political thriller, in 1992.In June 2006, Cornwell was made an Officer of the Order of the British Empire in the Queen s 80th Birthday Honours List.Cornwell s latest work, Azincourt, was released in the UK in October 2008 The protagonist is an archer who participates in the Battle of Agincourt, another devastating defeat suffered by the French in the Hundred Years War However, Cornwell has stated that it will not be about Thomas of Hookton from The Grail Quest or any of his relatives.