[[ Download ]] ➽ Hideaway Author Nicole Lundrigan – Writerscompany.co.uk

3.5 great writing This is a horrific story It will stick with me for a while I know these things really do happen and these people do exist but it didn t make it any easier to read about it The hopelessness of the situation was heartbreaking This story is well written and plotted The characters and dialogue are layered It was fascinating and I couldn t put it down but it wasn t an enjoyable read The conclusion helped to an extent.I woul 4.5 rounded up Very good read, suspenseful and mysterious Good pacing Would recommend for readers who enjoy a character intense thriller. A dysfunctional family and the lies that go with itGloria and Telly Theodore are the parents of Rowan 13 and Maisy 7 Telly and Gloria are estranged he is living with his lady friend , Dian In front of others, Gloria tries to appear to be a stand up parent and working mother Most likely everyone sees through this fascade At home, Gloria treats her kids and their dog, Chicken terribly Selfish Gloria only wants Telly back and it becomes obvious that she is obsessive about this Maisy has to lie constantly to everyone to fit Gloria s needs and wants Gloria forces her into it Rowan is a bit forthcoming so he sustains the most punishment While spending the night in the woods as a punishment, Rowan meets Carl, a vagabond, who is nice to him Rowan visits Carl regularly Eventually, the tension in the h 4 5 stars This was an intense read, that really had my heart aching in spots Seeing the amount of disturbing family circumstances could be a tough thing for many to read, but I enjoy the disturbing and demented books It was we What If Home Is The Most Dangerous Place You Can Be For Fans Of Room And Readers Of Shari Lapena Gloria Janes Appears To Be A Doting Suburban Mother And Loving Wife But Beyond Her Canary Yellow Door, Gloria Controls Her Husband, Telly, As Well As Seven Year Old Maisy And Her Older Brother Rowan, Through A Disorienting Cycle Of Adoration And Banishment When Telly Leaves, Gloria Turns On Rowan He Runs Away, Finding Unlikely Refuge With A Homeless Man Named Carl, With Whom He Forms The Kind Of Bond He Has Never Found With His Parents After They Are Menaced By Strangers, Rowan Follows Carl To An Isolated Cottage, Where He Accidentally Sets Off A Burst Of Heightened Paranoia In Carl, And Their Adventure Takes A Dark Turn Gloria Is Publicly Desperate For The Safe Return Of Her Son While Privately Plotting Ever Wilder Ways To Lure Telly Home For Good Her Behaviour Grows Erratic And Her Manipulation Of Maisy Begins To Seem Dedicated Toward An Outcome That Only She Can See The Two Storylines Drive Relentlessly Toward A Climax That Is Both Shocking And Emotionally Riveting.Suspenseful, Unsettling, And Masterful, Hideaway Explores The Secrets Of A Troubled Family And Illuminates An Unlikely Hero And A Source Of Unexpected Strength. When I started this book, I definitely did not see the insane storyline coming I was expecting a fairly basic sort of thriller where the mom is a bit out there and let me tell you, this was anything but your regular old garden variety thriller I was gripped from the beginning and the book didn t let go until the last, terrifying page.Thanks so much to Penguin Random House Canada for sending me a copy of this book for an honest review As always, all opinions are my own.The story follows the Janes family the mother Gloria, father Telly, and two children, seven year old Maisy and thirteen year old Rowan On the outside, their family seems normal enough But when Telly leaves, the rifts of the family are soon made visible Gloria s manipulative affection reaches a breaking point and Rowan runs away Outwardly, Gloria seems desperate to find her son but inward it is clear she has a plan set in motion to save her family a plan only she seems to understand.Interestingly, the book is told from two perspectives the two children, Maisy and Rowan Each child has a distinctive voice and provides their own account of what is happening I think Lundrigan did a really great job of writing their voices and creating a story from the lens of children As a reader, you are able to see Gloria s manipulations and twisted affection in ways that the children, or at least, Maisy, cannot That really adds to the suspense of t 3.5 STARS To say that I enjoyed this book makes me feel a little yucky because its subject matter isn t for the faint of heart a dysfunctional family that is impacted by mental health issues and the abuse and neglect of two children at the hands of their parents.Lundrigan, a new to me Canadian author, depicts a family in turmoil and takes her readers behind a mother s fa ade of pasted on smiles and kind words to neighbours and into their real family life The Janes family is rife with dysfunctional relationships with mom Gloria s destructive and paranoid actions consistently manipulate events to suit her own self absorbed desires and father Telly runs away to put his head in the sand To the two children, Maisy and Rowan, this is the only family life they ve ever known so they ve learned to live in consta Hard to read at times, this is the tale of an incredibly dysfunctional family and two highly resilient kids Gloria is a monster No two ways about it She puts on a good show but her family her husband Telly and worst of all her children Rowan and Maisy suffer regularly Telly leaves her and moves in with another woman, which only leads her to redouble against the kids Rowan finally runs away, finding I received an ARC of this novel via NetGalley and Penguin Random House in exchange for an honest review.Rowen and his little sister Maisy are left in the care of their erratic mother Gloria when their father Telly leaves them for his new girlfriend Gloria s erratic moods result in Rowen running away from home where he meets an unusual friend named Carl Carl appears to be an eccentric but seemingly harmless homeless man who agrees to let Rowen stay with him Rowen, excited about his new adventure, begins to have doubts about his safety when Carl s paranoia turns dangerous Hideaway is an unusual tale in which we get to experience the lives of Rowen and Maisy two young children from a poor dysfunctional family I m tagging it as thriller but it would probably be closer to the suspense genre The novel changes POV throughout the chapters so that the reader can experience the events unfolding from the eyes of a child Carl, a homeless man with mental illness, is What makes you continue to read a story that is so dark and unsettling you can t imagine it being real The fact that you know that families like the Janes do exist and you have to find out what happens This is an emotionally charged and powerful story Told by the two children involved, both young and na ve, and easily manipulated because your parents are supposed to on Hideaway


About the Author: Nicole Lundrigan

Lundrigan s skillfully balanced blend of psychological thriller and haunting coming of age story is infused with creepy, small town atmospheric suspense Her writing is both elegant and darkly humorous, delivering bareknuckle social commentary that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Karin Fossum, and Laura Lippman Booklist, Starred reviewNicole is the author of seven novels including


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *